Race hots up for ZPs in three districts

Bhubaneswar: The ruling Biju Janata Dal has clinched absolute majority in 26 districts and sitting pretty to form the Zilla Parishads. But no political party has been able to claim majority in the three districts of Kondhmal, Koraput and Gajapati. The two major political parties, the BJD and the Congress, have started political maneuvering to garner support from the elected representatives to grab Zilla Parishads.

In Kondhmal, the BJP would play the crucial role in the formation of the Zilla Parishads. The BJD won 6 seats, the Congress 9 and the BJP 3 seats in a district which has 18 Zilla Parishad Zones. The Congress requires the support of just one more candidate while the BJD requires the support of at least four members and hence both the parties have started eyeing the three BJP representatives.

In Koraput, the key lies with the lone Independent winning candidate as the BJD and the Congress have won equal numbers of seats in the district. The BJD and the Congress each have 14 seats while one was won by an independent in a district which has 29 Zilla Parishad Zones. The Independent woman Jura Mauka who tasted victory in Narayanpatna zone will virtually play the role of the king maker.

Gajapati has 14 Zilla Parisha Zones. The BJD won 7 while the Congress won in four seats. The BJP with three seats in its kitty will play the crucial role. And hence its winning members have become the most sought after figures by both the BJD and the Congress. While the BJD needs the support of one more member, the Congress needs the support of at least three to form the parishad.

The election of the Zilla Parishad Presidents would be held on March 13.