President confers Jnanpith Award-2011 on Pratibha Ray

New Delhi: President Pranab Mukherjee conferred the prestigious 47th Jnanpith Award for the year 2011 on Odia litterateur Dr. Pratibha Ray at a function at the Balyogi Auditorium in Rastrapati Bhawan here on Wednesday.
Ray is the fourth Odia to get the distinct award after Sitakant Mohapatra. She dedicated the award to the Odia language. The award carries a cash of Rs 7 lakh with citation. She has been awarded for her life time research in literature.
Born on 21 January 1943, Ray achieved many prestigious awards of State and Central government in different time. Her awards include  'Orissa Sahitya Akademi Award' for her novel 'Sheelapadma' (1985), 'Sarala Award' for her novel 'Yajnaseni' (1990), 'Moortidevi Award' for  'Yajnaseni' (1991 ), ' Kendra Sahitya Akademi Award' for her short-story collection 'Ullaghna' (2000), 'Amrita Keerti Puraskar' (2006 ) and  'Padma Shri Award' in literature and education in 2007.