Polavaram row: AP submits three names of experts

Bhubaneswar/New Delhi: After Supreme Court whip, Andhra Pradesh government on Monday submitted names of three independent experts to the apex court.

The experts are—former Central Water Commission chairman Z Hasan, B M Ahuja and former member of CWC M D Gopalkrishnan.

Earlier, state government had nominated three experts namely– Anil D Mohli, former chairman of the Central Water Commission, Prof (retd) Permumal of IIT Roorkee and Prof (retd) A K Gosain of IIT Delhi.

AP government today submitted the names of the experts as apex court had pulled up the government last Friday for its lackadaisical attitude.

Meanwhile, Chhattisgarh government has broken silence over the issue for the first time since the Orissa and Andhra Pradesh government engaged in legal tangle. Chhattisgarh Minister for Environment and Forests Vikram Usendi who is on a visit to Orissa said, the Chhattisgarh government would file a writ petition in the Supreme Court as it fears a large area would be inundated due to the multi-purpose Polavaram project on river Godavari.

With Chhattisgarh government contemplating to move apex court, the Polavaram row is all set to intensify. Now, it would keep a close eye on the developments and functioning of the joint expert committee.

Meanwhile, the next hearing has been posted to next Monday.