Urban local body polls in Odisha on April 7

Bhubaneswar: The nine urban local bodies in Odisha including four newly constituted notified area councils (NACs) will go to the polls on April 7.

This was announced by State Election Commissioner R N Senapati here.

“Polling will be held in nine urban local bodies on April 7 and votes will be counted the next day on April 8,” Senapati told reporters here.

Stating that notifications in this regard have already been issued, Senapati said the model code of conduct will be implemented from the date of announcement of poll dates. The process of filing nomination papers will be conducted between March 16 and March 19. The candidates can withdraw their papers on March 26, he said.

The Urban Local Bodies (ULBs) where elections will be held are: Balimela, Sunabeda, Rairakhole, Paradip, Belpahar and the four new NACs like Dharamgarh, Tusara, Daspalla and Ranpur, Senapati said, adding that polling will be held in 198 booths spread over 144 wards.

As many as 1,60,155 voters will exercise their franchise in the nine ULB elections between 8 am and 5 pm on April 7, Senapati said, adding that the SEC has appointed observers, both general and expenditure, in each ULB. Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will be used for voting purpose, he said. PTI AAM RG