Syed Mustaq Ali T20: Odisha suffer third defeat

Cuttack: Hosts Odisha suffered its third defeat in a row after they were beaten by Maharashtra by four wickets in a thrilling match in the ongoing Syed Mustaq Ali T20 League at Barabati stadium here on Monday.

Electing to bat, Odisha lost two quick wickets of openers Rishikesh Das (9) and Anurag Sarangi (1). However, Biplab Samantray and Govind Poddar took on the visitors and piled up 155 runs for the third wicket.

Biplab scored a blistering 102 from 59 balls with eight fours and six sixes while his partner Govind scored 63 from 43 balls with two fours and five sixes. The hosts finished their innings at 183 for 4 from 20 overs.

For Maharashtra, AA Sanklecha claimed two wickets and DJ Muthuswami got one wicket.

In reply, the visitors kept on losing wickets at regular intervals. However, with score at 84 for 5, PJ Bhati and AR Bawane launched a brutal assault on Odisha bowlers with 97-run partnership for the sixth wicket in 8.2 overs and took away the game from Odisha.

While Bhati scored 44 from 33 balls (three fours and three sixes), Bawane remained not out at 49 from 24 balls (three fours and four sixes).

For Odisha, Deepak Behera claimed two wickets while Abhishek Yadav, Manoj Kumar Barik and Govid Poddar bagged one wicket each.

In its next match, Odisha would take on Services at DRIEMS ground on January 7.

Prior to this defeat, Odisha had lost to Mumbai by six wickets in the first match and then lost to Uttar Pradesh by 32 runs in the second match of the tournament.