Students’ union election concludes

Bhubaneswar/ Cuttack: Students’ union election concluded peacefully across various colleges in Odisha today. Elections were held in 686 colleges and eight universities of Odisha.

The voting, which began at 8 am continued till 2 pm. Results were announced in the evening.

The oath taking ceremony of elected students’ representatives will be held tomorrow.

Megha Kanungo was elected as president of Ramadevi Womens’ University while Anisha Subudhi was elected as general secretary.

Similarly, in Ravenshaw University Ramyaranjan was elected as president and Sankalp Patnaik was elected as the general secretary.

In Sailabala Womens’ College Suchismita Sahoo and Anima Bhuyan have been elected as president and general secretary respectively.

Notably, due to pre-poll disturbances, campus poll was cancelled in 17 colleges and Utkal University this year.
Meanwhile, Ravenshaw University was closed sine die after the elections to prevent any post-poll violence.