Rs 456 cr to be spent on 9 cities of Odisha under AMRUT

New Delhi/Bhubaneswar: The Centre has sanctioned Rs 456 crore for development of basic infrastructures of nine cities in Odisha under the Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT) scheme for 2015-16.

For development of drainage system in religious town Puri, a total of Rs 15 crore will be spent.

Besides, infrastructure development of 81 water systems and sewerage systems will be done under the scheme.

The AMRUT scheme will cover Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Puri, Berhampur, Sambalpur, Rourkela, Bhadrak, Balasore and Baripada.

The Union Urban Development Ministry said the fund will be spent on the nine cities this financial year under the AMRUT scheme.

The Ministry added cities of five states – Odisha, Tamil Nadu, Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram and Jharkhand – are included under the AMRUT and Rs 5,748 crore has been allocated for this.