Ranji Trophy: Odisha force Haryana to follow on

Lahli: Odisha consolidated opened up the possibility of a bonus-point win after forcing Haryana to follow-on and take a big first-innings lead in their Group A Ranji Trophy cricket match at the Bansi Lal Cricket Stadium on Tuesday.

In reply to Odisha’s massive first-innings total of 529 for six declared, Haryana were skittled out for 216.

The hosts, after being forced to follow-on, were 46 for one in their second innings at stumps on the third and penultimate day’s play with Nitin Saini and Chaitanya Bishnoi remaining not out at 25 and 11 respectively.

In the first innings, Saini was the top scorer with 51 while his partner Jayant Yadav was the second best scorer with 46.

For Odisha, Basant Mohanty (3/51), Suryakant Pradhan (3/53) and Dhiraj Singh (2/22) were the main wicket-takers for Odisha.

Trailing by by 267 runs with nine wickets remaining, the hosts have the tough task of saving the match when play resumes on the final day on Wednesday.