Ranji Trophy: Karnataka crush Odisha

Mysore: Odisha went down by an innings and 64-run defeat against Karnataka in the Ranji Trophy Group-A tie at SDNRW Ground in Mysore on Tuesday.

Resuming their overnight score of 0 for one wicket, the miseries of Odisha batsmen continued as wickets fell at regular intervals. Barring Anurag Sarangi (44), none of the batsmen could stick at the wicket while five batsmen got out without scoring as the visitors were folded out for104 in 36.1 overs.

For Karnataka, Stewart Binny was the highest wicket taker with 4 for 34 while Shreyas Gopal and Vinay Kumar claimed three and two wickets respectively.

Karnataka middle order batsman Robin Uthappa was adjudged “Man of the Match” for his patient knock of 148 which helped his team take massive lead against Odisha.

With this win, Karnataka got seven points.

This was the first defeat of Odisha in the Ranji season this year.

Brief score: Odisha (First Innings) 232 and (Second Innings) 104
Karnataka: 400 for 9 declared (First Innings)