Race for next DGP hots up in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: With the present Director General of Police (DGP) Sanjeev Marik scheduled to superannuate in December this year, speculations are rife along the power corridor as to who would be the next DGP of Odisha.

Sources in the Home department said on the basis of seniority of the Odisha cadre IPS officers, the name of 1982 batch Binay Kumar Behera comes next after Prakash Mishra, Director General, CRPF, and Sanjeev Marik.

While the service tenure of Behera is till October, 2017, there is possibility that the state government, going by the service records of this police officer, a native of Kalahandi district, might consider his name for the top post.

However, going by the instances of appointment of senior IPS officers of the state cadre by bringing them back from the Central deputation, the name of 1984 batch IPS officer and presently the Additional Director General (ADG), BSF, Ramesh Prasad Singh is also doing the rounds.

Apart from these two IPS officers, two other IPS officers—Kanwar Brajesh Singh and BK Sharma—are also in the race for the top slot.

The 1985 batch officer, Singh, who is now the director, State Vigilance, has also successfully performed his duty in various capacities earlier. Known as the most loyal police officer, there is every possibility that the state government might actively consider his case.

Besides, BK Sharma, the Crime Branch ADG, is one of the strong contenders for the post of DGP. Sources said despite being a junior cadre IPS as compared to the three aforesaid officers, it is likely that the state government might consider him in terms of his successful breakthroughs, notably, in the much-talked-about Sarathi Baba and Sura Baba cases, murder of Titlagarh BJD leader Abhimanyu Sahu and Dinadiyan quadruple murder etc.