Odisha ministers declare assets; CM Naveen richest

Bhubaneswar: As per the asset declaration filed by the Odisha cabinet ministers for the year 2014-15, Odisha chief minister Naveen Patnaik is the richest among all the ministers in the Cabinet. However, Patnaik’s declaration revealed that an Rs 15 lakh increase in his loan burden, which he took from his sister Gita Mehta.

Urban Development minister Pushpendra Singhdeo has bought Rs 15 lakh worth of gold for his younger daughter. Law Minister Arun Sahoo is the poorest among all the ministers as per the latest list, which reveals that he owns assets worth Rs 30 lakh. During this period Sahoo has bought gold worth Rs 2 lakh for his wife.

Health minister Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak’s wife owns assets worth Rs 1.38 crore. Food Supplies minister Sanjay Das Burma’s assets have come down by Rs 1 crore over the period. His total assets now stand at Rs 2.12 crores. Moreover, Das Burma has invested Rs 1 crore in a Newspaper which is owned by his wife. Industries minister Debi Mishra’s assets have declined by Rs 11 lakh, while Energy minister Pranab Prakash Dash’s assets have declined by Rs 1 lakh.

The assets declared by Finance minister Pradeep Amat reflects an increase of Rs 2 lakh, while Cooperative minister Damodar Rout has added Rs 3 lakh to his total assets over the period. Similarly, Revenue minister Bijayshree Routray’s assets have also increased by Rs 23 lakh, while Agriculture minister Pradeep Maharathy’s assets have increased by Rs 47 lakh. Parliamentary Affairs minister Bikram Keshari Arukh has declared assets worth Rs 2.5 crore.

Commenting on the matter, Finance minister Pradip Amat said that we have filed the declaration and its in the public domain for everyone to see.

Cooperative minister Damodar Rout when asked about his increase in assets said, “Whatever assets I have, it is shown in my declaration and there has been no increase. I receive my salary on in my bank account and it could be higher than that of last year.”

“I have declared my assets based on my Income Tax Return and last year’s declaration,” said Parliamentary Affairs minister Bikram Keshari Arukh.