6 BMC corporators apply for cancellation of ration cards

Bhubaneswar: Six corporators of Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation (BMC), whose names figured in the NFSA list, have applied for on-line cancellation of their ration cards, said Mayor Anant Narayan Jena.

The corporators’ move came after the formation of a special probe committee, Jena said. Former deputy Mayor and corporator Bharati Singh allegedly received the ration card under the centrally sponsored scheme.

Other names in the list came to fore after an inquiry committee headed by a deputy commissioner was formed to look into allegations about irregularities in the list.

The six corporators who have applied for cancellation of their cards are Samir Pradhan (ward no 15), Bharati Singh (ward no 16), Premananda Behera (ward no 21), Basanti Singh (ward no 20), Harekrushna Nayak (ward no 22) and Jhunibala Dei, (ward no 26).

However, the inquiry into the alleged irregularities will continue, Mayor Jena pointed out.

Meanwhile, Nilagir Block Chairman Binati Nayak has also been issued a ration card. According to sources, both Binati and her Gadadhar Nayak’s names have been included in the ration card list.