HC orders for declaration of result of no trust vote against Anandpur civic body

Cuttack: The High Court today directed the Keonjhar district administration to announce result of the no trust vote against Anandpur civic body chief held in July last year.

The court also rejected the writ petition of the urban body chairperson Saraswati Jena who sought a stay on declaration of result.

12 councillors had taken part in the voting held on July 23, 2016 on the no-confidence motion against the chairperson of the Anandpur Municipality.

Four members of the civic body, including chairperson Saraswati Jena, had abstained during the voting. The votes, however, were not counted due to a High Court injunction.

The ballot box was kept sealed in the treasury office.

On June 28, 2016, nine councillors of the civic body had moved the motion against the chairperson after meeting collector N Thirumala Nayak at his office.

Of the nine councillors, five belong to BJD, two are from Congress and two Independents.