Govt to take over 7 police high schools

Bhubaneswar: Odisha government on Saturday decided to take over seven police high schools. A decision regarding this was taken at the State Cabinet meeting held under the chairmanship of Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik at the Secretariat here.

According to the decision, the police high schools at Balasore, Angul, Baripada, Rourkela, Keonjhar, Puri and Cuttack will be brought under the ambit of the State government at an annual cost of Rs 10.31 lakh to the State exchequer.

Besides, the Cabinet approved a proposal on amendment to the Odisha Child and Women Welfare Service Rules.

Elaborating on the decision, Vishal Dev, secretary, Women and Child Welfare Department said, “The selection of ICDA Supervisors will now be done through the Odisha Subordinate Staff Selection Commission. the recruitment will be done on the basis of cadre strength, not the annual vacancy, which was being practiced till now. Earlier, the appointment was done at the district level with 30% of posts filled up through direct appointment and 40% through promotion of VLW. The rest of the posts was being filled up through promotion of eligible anaganwadi workers.”

The Cabinet also cleared another proposal for selection of clerical and other staff at Odisha Transport Commission office through Odisha Staff Selection Commission.

A proposal from the Finance department regarding an increase in VAT on petrol and diesel from 23% to 26% also got the Cabinet’s nod.