Four airstrips in Odisha to be operational from next year

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha government today decided to develop four existing airstrips in the State and plans to make these operational from next year.

This was decided at a high-level meeting chaired by chief minister Naveen Patnaik at secretariat here.

Highly placed sources said runways of the airstrips in Baripada (Mayurbhanj dist), Rangeilunda (Ganjam dist), Padmapur (Bargarh dist) and Jeypore (Koraput dist) will be expanded. Besides additional infrastructure works would also be taken up which will be completed within a stipulated time.

The meeting also discussed on the extension of helicopter services to different places in the state, an official said.

The officials informed the expansion work of Rourkela, Jharsuguda, Lanjigarh and Angul airstrips are going on which will be completed within a couple of months. Runways of these airstrips are being expanded to 5000 ft.

Of the 28 airstrips in Odisa, 12 are under the control of the State government.