Filing of nominations for State BJP chief tomorrow

Bhubaneswar: Filing of nominations for the election of the State BJP president will be held on Thursday. This was announced by the party in a notification here on Wednesday.

As per the notification, candidates, willing to contest the post, can file their nominations. The filing and withdrawal of nominations will be done on the same day.

The filing of nominations would be held from 9.30 PM to 10.30 PM while the candidates would be allowed to withdraw their nominations between 11 AM to 1 PM.

In case there is more than one candidate for the post of party president, election would be held on Friday. A total of 178 office-bearers of the party including an MP and 10 MLAs would exercise their franchise, the notification added.

The counting of votes and declaration of results will be done on the same day.

While the party has laid emphasis on election of the state president through consensus, sources close to the party circles said that a majority of party workers have favoured the leader of the BJP legislature party Basant Panda for the top slot.

For supervision of the election, the central party high command has appointed the party’s national general secretary Saroj Pandey who is scheduled to arrive in the state capital on Wednesday. The party’s national general secretary Soudan Singh has already arrived in the capital city.

State BJP vice president Pratap Sadangi said, “Two days back, the party’s national president had talked to me. But at present, nobody has talked to me regarding the new State president.”

Meanwhile, Arun Singh, BJP State in-charge, who is already arrived in the city for the poll process, said, ” Discussion is being held with core committee members as well as other members of the party.”

BJP’s State general secretary Manmohan Samal said, “The consensus for the election of the party’s State chief is 100% and suggestions will be taken from everyone.”

Expressing similar views senior BJP leader Biswabhusan Harichandan said, “Rumours will go on. However, the election will be done through consensus.”