7 Cong councilors of Nayagarh NAC join BJD

Nayagarh: Seven Congress councilors of Nayagarh NAC quit the party and joined the BJD on Sunday.

The councilors joined the ruling party a day after the president of the Congress district unit Lala Manoj Ray suspended Nayagarh NAC chairperson Guru Prasad Jena and vice chairperson Rashmita Mohapatra.

Out of 13 wards of the NAC, Congress had seven councilors while BJD had six councilors.

Meanwhile, the suspended NAC chairperson said since he had quit the Congress two days ago, the suspension order has no relevance.