OPL to kick start with Cuttack-BBSR tie

Cuttack: Cuttack Barabati Tigers (CBT) and Bhubaneswar Jaguars (BBJ) would feature in the inaugural tie of Orissa Premier League (OPL) T20 cricket match which would kick start at Barabati stadium here on May 22.

Both the teams of the twin-city along with Baleswar Baghas, Cooperative Kings Dhenkanal and Kasvi Power Rangers of Keonjhar are bracketed in Group B while Group A teams comprise Angul Tuskers, Berhampur Bhanja Veers, Jagatsingpur Sparks, Puri Emperors and Western Samurai Rourkela.

Each team will play twice against the teams of their group in the league matches which would continue till June 9 to determine the semifinalists. Two top teams of each group would play the semifinal matches on June 10 in which A1 would play against B2 and B1 would take on A2. The losing semifinalists would clash on June 11 to determine the third position before the grand final slated on June 12.

While preliminary matches are to be played at five venues at Bhubaneswar Railway Stadium, Gopabandhu Stadium at Paradip, V S S Stadium at Sambalpur, Kadam Padia at Angul and Barabati Stadium here, semifinals, losing semifinal and the final matches would be played under floodlights at Cuttack.

Meanwhile, all the ten teams have submitted their respective players? list along with other supporting staff to the OPL governing body.

While the teams are gearing up for the first edition of the OPL tournament, a group of filigree artisans of the city here are busy making the coveted OPL trophy.

"The cup is being made up of about five kg of pure silver at a cost of Rs five lakh," said Orissa Cricket Association (OCA) secretary Asirbad Behera.