OPL inaugurated in a gala event at Barabati stadium

Cuttack: The inauguration for the first edition of Orissa Premier League (OPL) kick started on Sunday at Barabati stadium here in a gala event full of cultural activities and contemporary song and dance.  

The inaugural event was attended by Badri Narayan Patra, minister of Sport and Youth Affairs, MLA Debashish Samatray who represents Barabati constituency, Ranjeev Biswal OCA President and Asribad Behera, OCA Secretary. 

This mega event witnessed a grand parade of all the ten teams with their over 150 players and their brand ambassadors.  Both the Ollywood actresses and a dance troupe from Mumbai presented their dance in the special function.  

For the first time in the state, Orissa Cricket Association (OCA) is organizing OPL T-20 matches in line with its successful national cousin IPL.

The teams to play in the OPL matches include Angul Tuskers, Berhampur Bhanja Veers, Jagatsingpur Sparks, Puri Emperors, Western Samurai Rourkela, Baleswar Baghas, Bhubaneswar Jaguars (BBJ), Cooperative Kings Dhenkanal, Kasvi Power Rangers of Keonjhar and Cuttack Barabati Tigers.

The matches are to be played at five venues at Bhubaneswar Railway Stadium, Gopabandhu Stadium at Paradip, V S S Stadium at Sambalpur, Kadam Padia at Angul and Barabati Stadium here.

While Cuttack Barabati Tigers and Bhubaneswar Jaguars would fight it out in the inaugural tie of OPL T20 match, the local TV channels, especially Tarang Music Channel will telecast the live match.