OPL-II inaugurated, matches from today

Cuttack: Agriculture minister Debi Prasad Mishra on Wednesday evening inaugurated the second edition of Odisha Premier League (OPL) T20 organized by Odisha Cricket Association (OCA) at Barabati stadium here.

Cuttack-Barabati MLA Debashish Samantray, Cuttack Mayor Soumendra Ghosh, OCA President Ranjib Biswal and Secretary Ashirbad Behera were also present at the opening ceremony.

The grand ceremony was commenced with the march fast carried out by all the participants of the eight teams followed by blazing fireworks and dazzling lights.

Ollywood megastar Anubhav Mohanty, comedian Pappu Pampam, actress Nutan, Priyanka and music director Abhijeet Majumdar enthralled the audiences with their performances in the evening.

Meanwhile, the matches for the season are scheduled to begin from today. Team Barabati will be playing against Dhauli in the first match and Baitarani will take on Suvarnarekha in the second match at Barabati stadium in Cuttack.

The eight teams divided into two groups with Barabati, Dhauli, Baitarani and Subarnarekha in Group A and Mahanadi, Rushikulya, Konark and Chilika in Group B will fight it out for the championship.

All the matches will be played at the Barabati stadium in Cuttack and at the VSS stadium in Sambalpur. The tournament will witness two matches each day.

The winner team would get prize money of Rs 3 lakh while the runner-up team will be awarded with prize money of Rs 2 lakh. The third placed team shall also be richer by Rs 1 lakh.