OPCC sets up disaster management committee, opens control room

Bhubaneswar: With the very severe cyclonic storm heading towards Odisha coast, the Congress on Thursday constituted a three-tier disaster management committee and opened a control room to undertake relief, rescue and rehabilitation activities.
"The OPCC has constituted a committee in state level, district level and block level to help the people likely to be affected by the impending cyclone," OPCC president Jaydev Jena said.
Besides taking members from youth, women and student wings, the OPCC asked its people to keep in touch with district collectors, tehsildars, block development officers and others associated with the relief and rescue operation during the calamity.
OPCC vice-president Samir Routray has been assigned the responsibility of the state level control room while senior leader Sk Matklub Ali will be incharge of Cuttack district. Other leaders who have been put in charge of different districts are: Prasad Harichandan (Puri), Chiranjib Biswal (Jagatsinghpur), Gurupada Nanda (Kendrapara), Kishore Panda (Nayagarh), Shivananda Ray (Balasore), Pradeep Majhi (Bhadrak), Kailash Acharya (Mayurbhanj), Kishore Patel (Keonjhatr), Kumudini Patnaik (Ganjam), Alekh Choudhury (Gajapati) and Amarnath Pradhan (Dhenkanal).
These leaders could be directly contacted over phone for any matter relating to cyclone disaster, Jena said.