Odisha Premier League-II to be inaugurated today

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Cricket Association (OCA) is all set to hold the second edition of Odisha Premier League (OPL) T20, whose inaugural ceremony is scheduled to be held at Barabati stadium under floodlights today.

Blazing fireworks and dazzling lights along with ollywood cine stars are all in readiness to enhance the ceremonial evening.

"We have planned to hold an IPL style grand opening ceremony with cultural progammes and fireworks", OCA secretary Ashirbad Behera said.

The matches will begin from 2nd May.

As per reports, this year a total of eight teams will fight it out for the championship at Barabati stadium in Cuttack and VSS stadium in Sambalpur.

The Cuttack venue will also host the semifinal matches, third place match and the all important final apart from holding 12 league matches.

The teams have been named as Barabati, Mahanadi, Dhauli, Rushikulya, Baitarani, Konark, Subarnarekha and Chilika.

The winner team would get a prize money of Rs 3 lakh while the runner-up team will be awarded with a prize money of Rs 2 lakh. The third placed team shall also be richer by Rs 1 lakh.

After the first edition of the League in 2011, the franchisees did not turn up to own the teams in 2012 as some of the franchise owners were targeted by the state government with income tax raids and vigilance raids and eventually the tournament had to be cancelled.