Odisha govt appoints administrators to urban local bodies

Bhubaneswar: With the scheduled polls to 25 urban local bodies (ULBs) in nine western Odisha districts affected due to agitations over setting up High Court bench and the five year term of the elected representatives of these ULBs coming to an end this Sunday, the Odisha government on Wednesday appointed administrators to these civic bodies.
Exercising the powers conferred by section 425 of the Odisha Municipal Act, 1950 (Odisha Act 23 of 1950) the State government appointed administrators to exercise the powers and perform the functions of the Municipal Councils and their Chairpersons.
In Bolangir district, ADM (Bolangir) has been appointed as the administrator to Bolangir Municipality, and Sub-collectors of Patnagarh, Titlagarh, and Tahasildar of Kantabanjhi have been given the charge of Patnagath, Titlagarh and Kantabanjhi NACs, respectively.  
Similarly in Baragarh district, ADM (Baragarh) and Sub-collectors of Baragarh and Padmapur will take charge as administrators to Baragarh, Barpali and Padmapur NACs, respectively.
The officials who have been assigned as administrators to the remaining civic bodies are: Sub-collector, Deogarh for Deogarh Municipality; Collector, Jharsuguda for Jharsuguda Municipality; Sub-collector, Jharsuguda for Brajarajnagar Municipality; ADM, Kalahandi for Bhawanipatna Municipality; Sub-collector, Bhawanipatna for Kesinga NAC; Sub-collector, Dharmgarh for Junagarh NAC; Sub-collector, Nuapada for Khariar Road NAC; Tahsildar, Khariar for Khariar NAC; Collector, Sambalpur for Sambalpur Municipality; Sub-collector, Kuchinda for Kuchinda NAC; Sub-collector, Sambalpur for Hirakud NAC; Sub-collector, Subarnapur for Subarnapur Municipality; Tahsildar, Binika for Binika NAC; BDO, Tarava for Tarava NAC; ADM, Sundargarh for Sundargarh Municipality; ADM, Rourkela for Rourkela Municipality; Tahsildar, Rajgangpur for Rajgangpur Municipality and Tahsildar, Biramitrapur for Biramitrapur Municipality.
Meanwhile, the State Election Commission (SEC) has started the process for the election of chairmen/mayor of the civic bodies and Berhampur Municipal Corporation, scheduled to be held on September 30. The SEC has asked all the elected councilors/corporators of the respective ULBS to remain present during polling on that day.