Odisha Govt Accords Unitary University Status To Khallikote University

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha government has changed the status of Khallikote University from a Cluster University to a Unitary University which will focus on intensive research activities.

The State higher education department has issued a notification in this regard. “Khallikote University is not functioning as per the true spirit of a Cluster University. It is felt necessary to rather convert the Khallikote University into a Unitary University, which will focus on intensive research activities so as to evolve as a research-intensive University of Odisha” the notification said.

The government has directed five constituent colleges to disaffiliate from the Khallikote University and re-affiliate to the Berhampur University with effect from June 1, 2020.

The State government had established the Cluster University in Berhampur, called Khallikote University, on May 30, 2015 by altering the territorial jurisdiction of the Berhampur University having authority over five constituent colleges such as Khallikote College, SBRG College, Binayak Acharya College, Govt. Science College, and Gopalpur Degree College.

The students already enrolled in the five constituent colleges under the banner of Khallikote University will continue their studentship under the Khallikote University till completion.

Earlier, Bhawanipatna Autonomous Government College in Kalahandi district and Rajendra Autonomous College in Bolangir were accorded unitary university status by the State government to improve the quality of higher education.

The unitary universities have a single campus, offer both postgraduate and undergraduate courses and give strong emphasis on research activities.