Odisha Elections 2019: Campaigning for third phase polls ends today

Bhubaneswar: There seems to be rush among major political parties to reach out voters as campaining for the third phase elections in Odisha ends today. Six Lok Sabha constituencies – Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Puri, Sambalpur, Keonjhar and Dhenkanal – will go to the polls along with the 42 Assembly segments in their jurisdiction on April 23.

Heavyweights of BJD, Congress and BJP are scheduled to attend public meetings at different parts of State today. As per schedule, BJD supremo and Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik will hit the campaign trail for party candidates by addressing a public meeting at Kuchinda today.

Patnaik is later slated to attend a series of public meetings at Bhubaneswar, Athagarh, Rajnagar and in Kakatpur Assembly segments.

Similarly, Union Minister Piyush Goyal is scheduled to attend BJP’s Vijay Sankalap Samabesh at Satyabadi in Puri. He will also address a public meeting in Athgarh and attend a roadshow at Marshaghai in Kendrapara.

Odisha DG (in-charge) BK Sharma on Saturday reviewed the prepardness for the third phase polls and directed police officials to ensure a free, fair, transparent and incident free election.