Odisha Citizens Awards-2019: Achievers receive recognition, luminaries glitter at annual OTV event

Bhubaneswar: Nine eminent personalities from various fields  like Agriculture, Art and Culture, Business, Education, Entertainment, Social Service, Sports, Health Services and Politics, were awarded the Odisha Citizen Awards-2019 (OCA-2019) held on Saturday.

The award ceremony is an annual event instituted and organised by Odisha Television Network that has been scouring exceptional talents from various walks of life for the past eight years.

This year too, the winner of each category was selected on the basis of selection committee and votes from public.

For social service, Sudhir Rout received the OCA-2019 award. Similarly, Pramod Bhagat in sports, Dr JP Das in health, Sura Routray in politics, Jollywood actor Braja Panigrahi in entertainment and Sangram Kumar Das in Business category received the prestigious award for their outstanding achievements in their concerned field. OTV co founder and dirctor Jagi Mangat Panda delivered the welcome address.

“I thank the jury, Jagi Panda and Baijayant Panda for such an award function where the hidden talents are being recognised. It will encourage people, especially those who are in politics, to work more dedicatedly for the society and the public,” said senior Congress leader Sura Routray.

Braja Panigrahi, who was awarded in the entertainment category, said: “I thank the entire team of OTV for recognising actors like me at such a huge platform. It will help actors like me excel in the field.”

In a special message to youths, OCA-2019 winner (Business), Sangram Das said, “It’s time for youths to be confident and continue their work dedicatedly and diligently. There’s nothing to worry, don’t look back and carry on as hard work always pays off.”

While Union Minister Pratap Sarangi graced the occasion as the chief guest, BJP national vice-president Baijayant Panda, Odisha Congress chief Niranjan Patnaik were present at the award function.