Odisha Assembly passes resolution on Legislative Council

Bhubaneswar: Resolution on formation of a Legislative Council or Vidhan Parishad was passed in the Odisha Assembly today in absence of opposition members.

All 104 MLAs of the ruling-BJD cast their vote in favour of the resolution tabled by the Parliamentary Affairs Minister, Bikram Keshari Arukh in the State Assembly.

Chief Minister was the first member of the House to vote in support of the resolution.

Earlier, BJP and Congress MLAs criticised the ruling party’s move during a debate and staged a walkout. They alleged that the Vidhan Parishad is being established to rehabilitate resenting groups within the ruling party and money from the state exchequer will be spent unnecessarily on it.

As per the resolution, the Legislative Council will function similar to the Rajya Sabha in Parliament and will have 49 members.

Also Read: Govt orders salary cut of teachers remaining absent without permission

While 16 members of Vidhan Parishad will be elected by the Legislative Assembly, another 16 members will be elected by members of Zilla Parishad, Panchayat Samiti and Municipality.

Four members will be elected by an electoral college of graduates in the State whereas another four will be elected by an electoral college of teachers. Remaining nine will be elected from the fields of art, literature and social service.

In every two years, one-third member of the Legislative Council will retire.