Nomination for first phase poll ends; CM files papers from Bijepur, Narasingha from Bolangir

Bhubaneswar: Amidst show of strength, the heavyweights of several political parties today filed nominations for the constituencies going to polls in the first phase on April 11. BJD supremo and Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik filed his nomination for Bijepur Assembly seat before the Padampur Sub-Collector today. Official sources said a total of  245 candidates including 206 candidates have filed their nominations for various assembly constituencies. A total of 22 candidates have filed nominations for the Lok Sabha seats which will go for polls in the first phase.

Responding to media query whether he would fulfil the aspirations of people of Western Odisha including irrigation and other developmental works, Naveen said, ‘Zaroor’ (sure).

Apart from Naveen, ruling party’s senior leader Prasanna Acharya filed his nomination for Bargarh Lok Sabha seat, Pramila Bisoi for Aska LS seat, Bikram Keshari Arukh for Bhanjanagar Assembly seat and former minister Rabi Nanda filed his nomination papers for Jeypore Assembly constituency today.

The opposition parties were not far behind to utilise the opportunity to kick start their poll campaign by organising huge rallies while filing their respective nominations. BJP state president Basant Panda filed his nomination for Kalahandi LS seat before the returning officer at Bhawanipatna, Sangeeta Singh Deo for Bolangir and Bhrugu Baxipatra filed his nomination from Berhampur LS seat.

“Even after 71 years of Independence, Kalahandi is lagging behind in terms of development,” said Panda.

Leader of BJP legislature party, KV Singh Deo filed his nomination for Patnagarh Assembly seat and Pinki Pradhan for Digapahandi Assembly constituency today. However, the pictures of BJD leader Prasanna Acharya and BJP’s National Secretary Suresh Pujari sharing lighter moments and hugging each other prior to their nomination filing became the talk of the town today.

Congress heavyweights including Narasingha Mishra and Bhakta Das filed nominations for Bolangir Assembly and Kalahandi LS seats, respectively today. Mishra’s son, Samarendra Mishra too filed nomination from Bolangir LS seat. Opposition chief whip and senior Congress leader Tara Prasad Bahinipati also filed his nomination for Jeypore Assembly seat.

“This election will be fought on several issues,” said Mishra.

CPI (M) candidate Laxman Munda filed his nomination for Bonai Assembly seat and BSP candidate Krushna Chandra Sagaria filed nomination for Jeypore Assembly seat today.