Naveen to probe BJD rebels victory

Bhubaneswar: The Biju Janata Dal(BJD) supremo and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik would personally conduct an inquiry into the factors leading to the victory of rebel candidates of the party in the elections of Zilla Parishad Presidents in Khurda and Rayagada. The victory of the rebel candidates in Khurda and Rayagada who contested elections against official candidates of the BJD has created a controversial situation.

In Khurda, the BJD had nominated Babuni Sahoo as its official candidate for the post of Zilla Parishad President. However, Babuni Sahoo got only 12 votes in his favour while the party had 25 newly elected members. The rebel candidate Minakshi Sahoo, who had won the election from Zone Number 17, was able to garner 18 votes. Now, BJD President Naveen Patnaik would look into the factors leading to the victory of the rebel candidate.

In Rayagada, the BJD rebel candidate Sujata Madangi defeated the party nominee Damayanti Sarka. Sujata Madangi pipped Damayanti with support from Congress members.

The defeated candidate in Khurda, Babuni Sahoo, however, has accused that the four BJD MLAs of Khurda were responsible for his defeat. Babuni Sahoo urged the district BJD president and the party supremo Naveen Patnaik to take action against the rebel candidate Minakshi Sahoo. However, BJD Vice-President Dr Damodar Rout denied that there was any in-fighting in the party. The BJD candidates emerged victorious in 28 districts while the Congrees candidates were able to win in only two districts.