Naveen set to be re-elected BJD president unopposed

Bhubaneswar: With no one else filing nomination for the post today, it is now a foregone conclusion that Naveen Patnaik will become the president of Biju Janata Dal (BJD) for the 7th consecutive term today.

“I only received the nomination papers of Naveen Patanaik, which was supported by 10 persons including Cuttack district president Pratap Jena, senior leader SN Patro, minister Pradeep Panigrahi and Angul district president Rajanikant Singh. Filing of nominations for 81 posts of State executive members is still in progress. Scrutiny of nomination papers will be held tomorrow and results will be announced on February 28,”returning officer Pratap Deb said.

Deb said the BJD election is being held on a consensual basis. “As many as 36 persons have filed papers for state executive till now. Other will come up. Naveen Patnaik is the only member stood for the president post,”he added.

The first executive meeting will be convened on February 28 where the results will be declared formally, Deb said adding, this meeting will be the first executive meeting of the party after the organisational election.

Senior party leader and Parliamentary affairs minister Bikram Keshari Arukh submitted the papers on behalf of Patnaik.

“I filed the nomination for our beloved and top leader Naveen Patnaik for the post of president. As he was the only leader from the party to file nomination, he will be elected unopposed,” Arukh said.

The organisational polls of the regional party were held in five phases. The process reached the final stage today with the filing of nominations for the post of president.

The BJD had appointed district returning officers (DROs) for 32 organisational districts in December last year to start the process for party polls.

DROs were appointed by State returning officer (SRO) and former minister Pratap Keshari Deb.