Naveen likely to spring surprises in min reshuffle

Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik in his second ministry reshuffle in third term is likely to induct new faces into the ministry scheduled to be held today afternoon.

While state energy minister Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak officially asked to tender resignation from the ministry, senior party leader Kalpataru Das received invitation from the Raj Bhavan to attend the ceremony, who is expected to get a portfolio.

According to highly placed sources, Prabhat Tripathy is set to become the government chief whip and Bramhagiri MLA Sanjay Das Burma could be deputy chief whip. Sources said, chances of getting a portfolio for Bijayashree Routray cannot be ruled out.

Naveen effected the last ministry reshuffle on May 10, 2011.

According to sources Dr. Damodar Rout, Arun Sahu, Subrat Tarai, Pratap Dev, Ravi Nanda, Sarojini Hembram, Rajanikanta Singh are likely to be minsters.

Meanwhile ministers Pushpendra Singhdeo and Prafulla Samal have been asked to tender resignation.