Monsoon: Less showers in Odisha, 21 districts register deficit rainfall in June

Bhubaneswar: As many as 21 districts in Odisha have registered less than normal rainfall in the month of June this monsoon, the state government said on Saturday.

At least eight districts have been severely hit due to less showers this month recording 39 to 59 percent shortfall in rain while  13 others have recorded rainfall deficit between 19 percent to 39 percent.

Rainfall in Nuapada, Ganjam, Subarnapur, Angul, Nayagarh, Balangir, Nabarangpur and Kalahandi remained severe deficit while Jharsuguda, Sambalpur, Mayurbhanj, Keonjhar, Dhenkanal, Gajapati, Bargarh, Kandhamal. Rayagada, Boudh, Deogarh, Sundargarh and Koraput received deficit rainfall, a Facebook post of the State Special Relief Commissioner (SRC) stated.

Kalahandi  remained  the worst hit district with the highest deficit rainfall of 55.7 percent followed by Nabarangpur at 55.4 and Balangir with 52.0 percent.

Similarly, seven districts  received normal rainfall between +19 and -19 percent where as Balasore and Kendrapara received surplus rainfall of more than 19 percent.

The Facebook post further added that Balasore district received the highest rainfall of 268.9 mm during the month whereas Balangir district received the lowest rainfall of 97.3 mm.

The block wise distribution of rainfall revealed that of the 314 blocks in the state, 35 received surplus rainfall while only  83 blocks received normal rainfall. A total of  196 blocks remained deficit by more than 19 percent.

On an average, the State experiences 9.9 rainy days in the month of June while there were 8.1 rainy days during June this year.

Overall, the state has got average rainfall of 161.1 mm against the Long Term Average (LTA) of 216.5 mm thereby registering a deficit of 25.6% this June, the SRC stated in its post.