Cuttack: The state unit president of Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) Utkal Keshari Parida, on Wednesday filed four different contempt petitions against Assembly Speaker Pradip Kumar Amat in Orissa High Court for allegedly violating order of High Court and Supreme Court.

The petitioner alleged that the speaker ‘deliberately’ and ‘willfully’ disobeyed the order of High Court and Supreme Court. Parida, in his petition, mentioned that Orissa High Court had ordered Amat on September 27, 2012 to dispose of the petition seeking disqualification of four MLAs who joined the BJD after voluntarily giving up NCP.

The Speaker challenged the HC order in Supreme Court which too upheld the latter’s order and gave a similar direction after completing hearing process on January 17. However, Amat neither responded to the HC order nor complied with the Apex court direction, Parida alleged.

Four MLAs, Amar Prasad Satpathy, Ramachandra Hansda, Prashant Nanda and Nabin Nanda had quit NCP and joined BJD in June, 2012. The NCP state chief had filed petition with Assembly Speaker seeking disqualification of four legislators.