Minor reshuffle effected in Odisha bureaucracy

Bhubaneswar: Odisha government today effected a minor reshuffle in the bureaucracy after four IAS officers of the state cadre were granted central deputation, official sources said.

C J Venugopal, the principal secretary of Science and Technology department, has been appointed as the Principal Secretary to Odisha Governor, a notification issued by the general administration department said.

Venugopal has been appointed to the post after Parag Gupta left for central deputation.

The 1988 batch IAS Parag Gupta is set to join as joint secretary of the Department of Food Processing Industries in the Union Government.

Venugopal will also additionally handle Department of Science and Technology as earlier.

On return from study leave, 1991 batch IAS officer Vijay Arora is appointed as the Secretary of the Department of Public Enterprises (DoPE). Arora will spearhead reforms process in the state PSUs.

1994 batch IAS Ranjana Chopra on her return from child care leave, will function as the new secretary of the Department of School & Mass Education (DoSME). She was on central deputation before going on child care leave.

With 1996 batch IAS Usha Padhee, the secretary of school and mass education, moving to Centre and set to join as Joint Secretary, Civil Aviation, Chopra has been given her place.

While 1996 batch IAS Arabinda Kumar Padhee will leave for Centre as Joint Secretary, Fertilizers, no one is posted in his place. Padhee, is presently serving as Secretary, Department of Tourism and Culture.

1986 batch IAS G V V Sarma, who is now Principal Secretary of the Department of General Administration and Special Relief Commissioner (SRC) has been given more assignments. He is given the charge of Managing director Odisha State Disaster Management Agency (OSDMA).

Similarly, 2003-batch officer Aswathy S would join as Deputy Director, Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration, Mussoorie. Aswathy is presently posted as director of Social Welfare Department.