Koraput municipality chairperson election today

Koraput: The election for the post of chairperson of the Koraput Municipality, necessitated after the resignation of the incumbent chairperson Biswabhusan Patnaik, will be held today. In the 21-seat Koraput Municipality, both Congress and BJD have 10 seats each.

During the election of the last Chairman, BJD was able to persuade Patnaik, who was an independent candidate to join the party and gave him the chairman’s post.

However, Patnaik had to resign on February 1, 2016 over allegations of misbehavior towards a lady councilor from the Congress. Since then, the post is lying vacant.

After the unsavory exit of Patnaik, Congress meanwhile is fancying its chances of placing one of its candidates on the post. Congress will back its councilor Bhagwan Bahinipati for the post.

Meanwhile, on the other hand, BJD chairman of Koraput district, Jayaram Pangi has said that all BJD councilors will have to support whosoever is chosen by the party for the post.