Intel reports on CM’s candidature from Hinjili: CP issues notice to three BJP leaders

Bhubaneswar: The Commissionerate Police today issued notices to three BJP leaders – State BJP vice-president Samir Mohanty, Spokesperson Golak Mohapatra and Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha chief Tankadhar Tripathy for interrogation in connection with the letters purportedly issued by State Intelligence Branch of the Odisha Police, which recommended that CM Naveen should not constest from Hinjili Assembly constituency.

The CP also directed them to depose at the Kharavel Nagar Police Station in Bhubaneswar at 10 am tomorrow to record their statements. This apart, they have been asked to produce the original letter, which was allegedly issued under the signature of Special DG of Police, Intelligence, Sunil Roy with the seal of Odisha DGP RP Sharma that was exhibited during a press conference at BJP headquarters here on Monday.

However, in response to the notice, Samir Mohanty said, “Whatever the police is doing is undemocratic and complete violation of the model code of conduct. Neither BJD nor the CMO has lodged any complaint in this regard. Police is trying to unleash terror and choke the voice of the opposition party.”

On Tuesday, Mohanty had submitted a letter, addressed to the Election Commission of India (ECI), to the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) stating that post declaration of election dates and enforcement of model code of conduct, the State Intelligence Branch comes under the direct supervision and control of the Election Commission. Despite that, Roy allegedly carried out a review of the CM’s Assembly constituency and submitted a report on the same.

Alleging violation of the model code of conduct, the BJP also demanded stern action against the Odisha DGP RP and Special DG of Police, Intelligence.

Prior to that, the BJYM chief in a press conference on Monday had produced a document which recommended that the CM should not contest upcoming Assembly elections from Hinjili constituency. Rather, the reports suggested four alternative constituencies for Patnaik-Rourkela, Bijepur, Bolangir and Titlagarh.

On the other hand, Naveen today filed his nomination from Hinjili assembly constituency at Chhatrapur Sub-collector’s office in Ganjam district.