Govt to upgrade 8 police outposts, augment strength of 15 PS

Bhubaneswar: Close on the heels of the Maoist ambush near Ralegada of Sunki ghat in Koraput district in which four Border Security Force (BSF) personnel were killed, the Odisha government on Wednesday sanctioned upgradation of eight outposts to police stations in four Western Odisha districts.
Officials said, these outposts are- Lathor and Larambha (Bolangir), Dharambandha, Lakhana, Beltukuri (Nuapada), Jagdalpur (Bargarh), Bijepur and Ambapani (Kalahandi).
Besides, the State government has also decided to augment strength of 15 police stations in these districts and sanctioned 313 new posts for the purpose. Among these police stations, six are from Nuapada and the others are Thuamul-Rampur (Kalahandi), Khaprakhol, Turikela (Bolangir), Ambabhana, Padampur, Paikamal, Jharbandh, Buden (Bargarh). 
In yet another significant development, a range conference was conducted at the Police headquarters at Cuttack under the chairmanship of DGP Prakash Mishra today.
The meeting deliberated on the issues such as crime, with special emphasis on women related incidents, law and order, left wing extremism and the ensuing urban local body (ULB) polls.
Among others, Special DG Sanjib Marik, ADG (Crime Branch) BK Sharma, ADG (HRPC) Sunil Roy, ADG (Intelligence) Abhay, IG (law and order) Binayananda Jha and, IG and DIGs of nine ranges were present on the occasion.