Gagan Kumar Dhal appointed chairman of OFDC

Bhubaneswar: In a reshuffle in bureaucracy, the Odisha government today appointed Gagan Kumar Dhal as chairman of Odisha Forest Development Corporation(OFDC), a post equivalent in status & responsibility to the post of Chief Secretary provided in the IAS cadre of the State.

Senior IAS officer Dhal had resigned from service yesterday. Dhal, who is a 1985-batch IAS officer and presently serving as the Agriculture Production Commissioner was due for retirement from service in January 2020.

However, the state government rejected his application for premature retirement and named him as the chairman of OFDC.

Among other bureaucrats, Suresh Mohapatra, Additional Secretary of Forest & Environment department, has been appointed as the Development Commissioner.

Sudershan Pal Thakur, Director General, Training Coordination, Gopabandhu Academy of Administration, Bhubaneswar is allowed to remain in additional charge of Chief Administrator, KBK, Koraput in addition to his own duties.

Similarly, Pradipta Kumar Mohapatra, Additional Chief Secretary of School & Mass Education Department has been appointed as Agriculture Production Commissioner.

Mona Sharma, Principal Secretary to Government, Rural Development Department is allowed to remain in additional charge of Principal Secretary to Government, Forest & Environment Department.

Principal Secretary of Industries Department,  Sanjiv Chopra, to continue in the additional charge of Principal Secretary to Government, Home Department.

Likewise, Manoj Kumar Mishra, CRC & Special Secretary to Government, Commerce & Transport Department will continue to remain in additional charge of Secretary, Electronics & Technology Department.

Rudra Narayan Palai, Special Secretary to Government, Electronics & Information Technology Department is appointed as Special Secretary to Government, Revenue & Disaster Management Department.