Elections 2019: BJD fields Shashi Bhusan Behera from Kendrapara Assembly seat

Kendrapara: The Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has fielded incumbent Finance Minister Shashi Bhusan Behera as its candidate from Kendrapara Assembly constituency. Party’s State secretary Bijay Nayak informed about the decision in a press statement, yesterday.

With the selection of Shashi Bhusan’s name by the CM and BJD president Naveen Patnaik, the ruling party has announced the candidates for all the Parliamentary & Assembly constituencies in the State.

Sashi Bhusan is the sitting MLA from Jayadev Assembly constituency in Khurda district was denied ticket from the seat as the party fielded former MLA Arabinda Dhali. However, supporters of Shashi Bhusan staged protests against the decision of not granting tickets to the senior leader.

Sources said Shashi Bhusan will file his nomination today as it is the last day of filing of nomination papers for the fourth phase polls in the State on April 29.

Along with Shashi Bhusan, BJP’s Sunakar Behera and senior Congress leader Ganeswar Behera are also in the fray in Kendrapara Assembly constituency.