Election of Srimandir Daitapati Nijog: Filing of nominations ends, withdrawal today

Puri: A total of 32 persons have filed nominations for elections of the Daitapati Nijog of Puri Srimandir scheduled to be held on January 28 as part of the reforms following the directive of the Supreme Court.

While the nomination filing ended on Saturday, today is the last date for withdrawal of nominations for the election of office bearers of the servitors’ group.

As per reports, out of the elected executive office bearers, the working president, vice president, secretary, additional secretary and treasurer of the servitors’ group will be elected later.

At present, Nabakishore Patimohapatra occupies the permanent president post of the Nijog.

“Earlier, there used to be a voice vote for election of office bearers in the Nijog. After demonetization, a by-law has been made and the election process has begun. It is true that there was some displeasure among some members of the Nijog and efforts are on to resolve the issue at the earliest,” said senior servitor Binayak Dasmohapatra.

Gunadhara Dasmohapatra, a candidate who has filed nomination, said, “My first duty would be to ensure unity among all servitors and that there should not be any payment issues. A rift has been created among servitors by the Srimandir administration.”

“The election process has begun as per the Apex Court’s direction and we welcome the step,” stated Shubhra Dasmohapatra, a voter.