Eight civic bodies go to polls today

Bhubaneswar: After the end of a high-pitch campaigning, the polls at eight civic bodies in the state like Balimela, Sunabeda, Dharmagada, Tusara, Daspalla, Rairakhol, Paradip and Belpahar began at 8 am today. The polling will continue till at 5 pm.

A total of 1,50,186 voters will exercise their franchise in eight urban local bodies to decide the fate of 469 candidates of 129 wards.

The people would cast their votes in 183 polling booths of which 115 have been identified as sensitive. CCTV camera surveillance and mobile police been deployed at 18 such booths.

Meanwhile, 183 presiding officers and 594 polling officers have been engaged in election duty for the smooth conduct of the polls.