Dr Pattnaik chosen for Damien-Dutton award-2012

Bhubaneswar: Dr P K B Pattnaik has become the eighth person from India to be selected for the prestigious Damien-Dutton award for the year 2012. Pattanaik (51) has been selected in recognition of his more than 25 years of dedication to the victims of leprosy in India and for his direct involvement in making the multi-drug therapy available to the people affected with leprosy in pursuance of his goal to eliminate leprosy in Odisha, official sources said.

"I am happy that the people have recognised my work. We have to work hard to make rest 16 districts leprosy free," Dr Pattnaik told reporters.

Congratulating Dr Pattnaik, state Health Minister Damodar Rout said, "Other doctors working in the field should learn from the dedication of Dr Pattnaik."

Dr Dharmendra was the first man from India to get this award in 1970 followed by Muralidhar D Amte (Baba Amte) in 1983, Mother Teresa (1984), Dr K V Deskan (2000), Eliazar T Rose (2005) and Dr E P Fritschi (2006).

Damien-Dutton Society for Leprosy AID INC was founded by Staff Sgt Howard E Crouch, Medical Corps US Army in 1944.

It presents yearly award to a notable person who has made a significant contribution towards the conquest of Leprosy and has got Worldwide recognition.

Dr Pattanaik, presently working as State Leprosy Officer, Odisha and State Nodal Officer NCD programme at Directorate of Health Services, Bhubaneswar, is also Honorary Secretary, Hind Kustha Nivaran Sangh, Odisha State Branch since 1996.