Court convicts 24 people for Kandhamal riots

Phulbani: A fast-track court in Kandhamal district today convicted 24 people with three years rigorous imprisonment and slapped a fine of Rs 1000 each in connection with the 2008 ethno-communal riots.

Pronouncing the judgement, Fast-Track Court (I) judge S K Das also acquitted six other persons due to lack of adequate evidence against them.

The convicts were charged with house burning, rioting and unlawful assembly in Kurminga village under G Udayagiri police station in September 2008.

In another case, the same fast-track court acquitted four persons of charges of setting affire a police out-post at Pasara under Tikabali police station in the district in August 2008.

The tribal dominated district had witnessed ethno- communal violence in the aftermath of the killing of senior VHP leader Swami Laxmananda Saraswati on August 23, 2008.