Congress to announce 50 MLA candidates’ list by August: Niranjan Patnaik

Bhubaneswar: Aimed at making early inroads ahead of 2019 elections, Odisha Congress on Saturday announced for early release of probable candidate list this year.

Newly appointed Odisha Congress Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) president Niranjan Patnaik informed that such decision has been taken to provide adequate time to the MLA candidates to strengthen their base in respective constituencies.

“The party will announce the list of MLA candidates by August. We hope that people of Odisha will take into consideration what works have been done in the last 18 years by the government and believe that they will not commit the same mistake this time,” said Patnaik.

Earlier, All India Congress Committee (AICC) on Friday had constituted screening committees for five states including Odisha.

AICC president Rahul Gandhi appointed VD Satheesan chairman of the screening committee for Odisha Congress. He also named Jitin Prasad and Naushad Solanki as other members of the committee.

According to sources in Congress, the screening committee will examine recommendations of the state units on ticket distribution and give their own suggestions to the party’s Central Election Committee which will take the final decision.

“Whether people of the country had done a mistake by voting Congress in the past? Congress is a political party and they are doing their exercise as the unit has got its new chief, said BJD vice-president, Debi Prasad Mishra.