CM makes ministers property list public

Bhubaneswar: Claiming total transparency in the administration, the Odisha government had made public the properties of its ministers including Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, who is the richest among all the ministers.

"As one more step towards transparency, the assets and liabilities of the council of ministers of Odisha have been hosted in the state government website," a senior official at the Chief Minister`s Office (CMO) said here on Saturday.

The property list was released before elections to Municipality Polls on November 15, by-election to Umerkote assembly segment on November 30 and panchayat polls scheduled early next year. The ministers had submitted their property lists with the Chief Minister in the month of August, sources said.

While the Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik had been the richest among the 21 ministers with movable and immovable property worth Rs 119,948,769, Urban Development minister Sarda Prasad Nayak properties was only worth Rs 12.18 lakh. Of the 21 Odisha ministers, 13 were found to have properties above Rs one crore.

The Chief Minister`s movable properties worth Rs 1,086,769 included a 1980 model ambassador car worth Rs 20,000. His immovable property totals Rs 118,862,000. Odisha Chief Minister has inherited farm land measuring 22.7 acre valued Rs 34,334,000 in Haryana from his mother Gyan Patnaik. Patnaik also inherited one-third of the share from property from his parents house at Aurengzeb Road in New Delhi worth Rs 51,428,000.

Patnaik has also two-third share in the property situated at Naveen Niwas here whose value is Rs 2.8 crore and one-third share in their ancestral house at Cuttack valued Rs 51 lakh.

Patnaik have three bank accounts, two in New Delhi and one here. While he has Rs 6,36,204 in the saving accounts at Bank of India`s Janpath branch in New Delhi, Rs 1,274 has been deposited in his account at SBI`s Parliament House branch. Patnaik also have a SBI account here with a deposit of Rs 1,80,404. Besides, the Chief Minister owns jewellery including gold ring, gold pendant, gold chain, button rubies and diamond worth Rs 1,48,887.

Next to the Chief Minister, Planning and Coordination Minister A U Singhdeo owned properties worth Rs 4.78 crore followed by Health and Family Welfare Minister Prasanna Acharya (Rs 3.4 cr), Finance Minister Prafulla Ghadai (Rs 2.33 cr) and Food and Supplies Minister Niranjan Pujari (Rs 1.77 cr).

Other ministers who own properties above Rs 1 crore included Agriculture Minister Pradeep Maharathy (Rs 1.68 cr), Rural dDDevelopment Minister Bikram Arukh (Rs 1.79 cr), Labour and Employment Minister Pushpendra Singhdeo (Rs 1.7 cr), Forest and Environment minister Debi Prasad Mishra (Rs 1.67 cr) and Panchayati Raj Minister Maheswar Mohanty (Rs 1.16 crore).