Civic polls: BJD trounces arch rival Cong, BJP

Bhubaneswar: In a major setback to Opposition Congress and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) just ahead of the 2014 Assembly and Lok Sabha elections, performance of the parties in the much-awaited urban local body (ULB) polls were way below that of its political rival, the ruling BJD.
In the civic polls to 66 ULBs, results of which were declared on Friday, BJD emerged as the single largest party by scoring a decisive victory in 44 ULBs. Congress won in 12 ULBs as BJP managed to score only in Rairangpur NAC of Mayurbhanj district.
In the much-anticipated Berhampur Municipal Corporation, BJD scored a hat-trick as it continued the winning streak for the third straight year and won in 24 of 40 wards while Congress grabbed 15.
BJD registered victory in Balasore Municipality and Nilagiri NAC, while Congress captured Jaleswar and Soro ULBs. Similarly, the party won Puri, Rayagada, Khurda, Jatni,Talcher, Jeypore and Malkangiri municipalities.
The ruling BJD made a clean sweep in Jajpur municipality, Chikiti and Purusottampur NACs in Ganjam district as it won all 18, 12 and 14 wards, respectively.
In a major success to Congress, the party claimed to form Pipili NAC by winning 10 wards. Similarly it captured Angul, Paralakhemundi, Jagatsinghpur and Dhenkanal municipalities.
In these 66 ULBs, BJD had won in 40 in 2008, Congress had won 9 and BJP 9 ULBs. BJD tally improved from 40 to 44, Congress from 9 to 12 and BJP plummeted from 9 to 1 in 2013. Comparison with 2008 will not give an exact comparative picture as there was a BJD-BJP alliance in 2008. But for the sake of record, BJD wrested 6 ULBs from Congress and Congress wrested 8 ULBs from BJD this time.
Poll Reaction:
CM Naveen on poll victory: "I'd like to thank all who voted for BJD for our great victory in ULB polls. Thanks to BJD workers for helping in our great success."

Reacting on the debacle of Congress, which had claimed during poll campaigning to form councils in at least half of the ULBs, former OPCC president Niranjan Patnaik said, “We didn't get the expected result as desired. We need to review it for our future course of action.”

On the other hand, senior Congress leader Lalatendu Vidyadhar Mohapatra expressing displeasure on party’s performance said, “My speculation about poor floor management before plunging into polls has proved to be right and I’m sure now the party will feel that a strategic way is needed to score better in the ensuing Lok Sabha and Assembly polls.”

“A structural change in block and district level will be done to change the scenario in future,” OPCC president Jayadev Jena stated.  

BJD vice president and senior BJD leader Kalpataru Das stated, “The Friday result has shown that the urban voters in Berhampur have reposed faith on Naveen Patnaik. The residents have given a befitting reply to Congress by exercising their franchising in support of the BJD candidates. I am thankful to all.”

Poll Result:
Angul Municipality (23 wards): Congress-14, BJD-9
Talcher Municipality (21 wards): BJD-10, Congress-4, BJP-5, Others-2
Athamallik NAC (11 wards): Congress 9, BJD-1, Others-1
Balasore Municipality (31 wards): BJD-17, Congress-6, BJP-1, Others-7
Jaleswar NAC (17 wards): Congress-12, BJD-2, BJP-1, Others – 2
Nilgiri NAC (13 wards): BJD-7, Congress-2, BJP-1, Others-3
Soro NAC (19 wards): Congress-8, BJP-6, BJD-5
Bhadrak Municipality (30 wards): BJD-17, Congress-11, BJP-1
Basudevpur NAC (23 wards): Congress-16, BJD-7
Boudh NAC (17 wards): BJD-11, Congress-4, Others-2
Banki NAC (17 wards): BJD-12, Congress-5
Athagarh NAC (18 wards): BJD-15, Congress-3
Choudwar Municipality (19 wards): BJD-13, Congress-1, Others-5
Dhenkanal Municipality (23 wards): Congress-11, BJD-6, BJP-5, Others-1
Kamakhyanagar NAC (15 wards): BJD-9, Congress-4, Others-2
Bhuban NAC (14 wards): BJD-7, Congress-4, BJP-2, Others-1
Paralakhemundi Municipality (16 wards): Congress-9, BJD-6, BJP-1
Kashinagar NAC (13 wards): BJD-8, Congress-3, Others-2
Berhampur Municipal Corporation (40 wards): BJD-24, Congress-15, Others-1
Digapahandi NAC (11 wards): BJD-6, Congress-4, Others-1
Hinjili NAC (21 wards): BJD-16, Congress-1, Others-4
Sorada NAC (11 wards): BJD-9, Congress-2
Chikiti NAC: BJD wins all 12 wards
Khallikote NAC (12): BJD-10, Congress-2
Bhanjanagar NAC (11 wards): BJD-9, Congress-2
Khalikote NAC (12 wards): BJD-10, Congress-2
Polsara NAC (19 wards): BJD-2, Congress-17
Buguda NAC (13 wards): Congress-7, BJD-4, Others-2
Purusottampur NAC (14 wards): BJD wins all 14 wards
Bellaguntha NAC (13 wards): BJD-7, Congress-5, Others-1
Aska NAC (18 wards): BJD-16, Congress-2
Kodala NAC (13 wards): Others-10, BJD-2
Rambha NAC (13 wards): BJD-8, Congress-1
Ganjam NAC (12 wards): BJD-6, BJP-4, Others-2
Jagatsinghpur Municipality (21 wards): Congress-12, BJD-9
Jajpur municipality: BJD wins all 18 wards
Pattamundai NAC (19 wards): BJD-12, Congress-6, Others-1
Keonjhargarh Municipality (21 wards): BJD-14, Congress-6, BJP-1
Anandpur Municipality (16 wards): BJD-6, Congress-3, Others-7
Badbil Municipality (15 wards): BJD-4, Congress-7, BJP-2, Others-1
Joda NAC (14 wards): BJD-7, Congress-7
Khurda Municipality (22 wards): BJD-15, Congress-2, Others-5
Jatni Municipality (23 wards): BJD-8, Congress-4, Others-11
Banapur NAC (15 wards): BJD-14, Congress-1
Balugaon NAC (11 wards): BJD- 8, BJP 3
Koraput NAC (21 wards): BJD-10, Congress-10, Others-1
Jeypore Municipality (28 wards): BJD-25, Congress-2, Others-1
Malkangiri Municipality (19 wards): BJD-10, Congress-9
Karanjia NAC (15 wards): BJD-7, Congress-3, BJP-3, Others-2
Udala NAC (12 wards): Others-6, BJP-4, Congress-2
Rairangpur NAC (15 wards): BJP-7, Congress-4, BJD-3, Others-1
Nabarangpur Municipality (17 wards): BJD-14, Congress-3
Umerkote NAC (14 wards): BJD-9, Congress-4, BJP-1
Nayagarh NAC (13 wards): Congress-7, BJD-6
Khandapada NAC (13 wards): BJD-7, Congress-4, Others-2
Puri Municipality (23 wards): BJD- 22, Congress-4, BJP-2, Others-4
Nimapada NAC (11 wards): BJD-6, Others-5
Konark NAC (13 wards): BJD-7, Congress-4, CPI-1, Other-1
Pipili NAC (16 wards): Congress-10, BJD-6
Konark NAC (13 wards): BJD-7, Congress-4, Others-4
Rayagada Municipality (24 wards): BJD-21, Congress-3
Gunupur NAC (17 wards): BJD-14, Congress-1, Others-2
Gudari NAC (11 wards): BJD-10, Others-1