We Report, You Decide

Chief secretary yet to submit IPR

Bhubaneswar: Chief Secretary Bijay Kumar Patnaik is among the eight Odisha cadre IAS officers who are yet to submit the Immovable Property Returns (IPRs) for civil servants, according to the official website of the Ministry of Personnel.

Patnaik, however, said that he had already submitted the IPR for the year 2009 and 2010 as per direction of the Centre before May 31.

"I have submitted the IPR for 2010 in the month of February, 2011," the chief secretary told reporters adding that while submitting the IPR for 2009, he had mentioned "as the previous year".

Meanwhile, Patnaik, a 1976 batch officer, had received a letter from the ministry seeking details of his immovable properties for 2009 instead of mentioning "as previous year".

Revealing his immovable properties, the chief secretary said he owns a four bed-room flat at Ghatikia costing about Rs 45 lakh, a 5400 square feet land at Ghatikia and a farm land of 8.7 acre at Kamakshyanagar in Dhenkanal district.

Besides, Patnaik is also one of the five beneficiaries of a plot at Kalpana area here in the name of his father.

"I have nothing to hide as government servants acquire immovable properties after informing the the state," he said.

The list of officers released by the ministry who are yet to submit IPR, also includes name of IAS officer Shrikant Kumar Paikaray who has died.

The name of Jayanth Kumar Dev, another officer who had applied for voluntary retirement way back in 2002 and has not been staying in Orissa since then, is also on the list of officers whose IPR were awaited.

Besides Patnaik, the IAS officers who did not submit their IPR included: school and mass education secretary Aparajita Sarangi, 1994 batch IAS officer posted as the secretary in energy department G Mathi Vathanan and Board of Revenue member Sangram Keshari Mishra.

While Vishal Gagan was on central deputation, 1990 batch officer Saroj Kumar Jha was not present in the state without leave.

As many as 146 IAS officers from the state have submitted their IPR before May 31, sources said.

Similarly, out of the 99 IPS officers enlisted to submit IPR, only 54 including the Director General of Police (DGP) Manmohan Praharaj, have submitted their property list with the ministry of home affairs.

You might also like

Comments are closed.