Campaign ends for Athgarh by-poll

Athgarh: Campaigning for the Athgarh assembly by-election to be held on March 18 came to an end today with star campaigners of all major political parties addressing public meetings and joining in rallies to garner votes in favour of their party candidates.

Senior Congress leader and state in-charge of the party, Jagdish Tytler, gave the final touches to the campaign. Pradesh Congress Chief Niranjan Pattanaik, former PCC Chief  Jayadev Jena and senior Congress leader Sarat Patnaik joined Tytler in campaign for party candidate Suresh Mohapatra.

On the other hand, three former ministers of the Naveen Patnaik cabinet namely Pradip Maharathy, Kalindi Behera and Dr Damodar Rout landed up in Athgarh to campaign for the BJD candidate Ranendra Pratap Swain. The party leaders stressed on organising rallies in semi-urban areas and villages to woo the voters. 

The President of the state unit of the BJP, Jual Oram, led the show for his party. Jual joined party candidate Bikram Dash in the campaign. The party organised a motor-cycle rally and campaigned vigorously especially in Tigiria and its adjacent areas.

Voting for the Athgarh by-election will take place on March 18 and the result will be announced on March 21.