SEC declares 5-phase panchayat election dates, poll code in force

Bhubaneswar: The State Election Commission (SEC) on Tuesday declared dates for five-phase panchayat polls in Odisha beginning 13 February, 2017. The elections which would be held in 6805 gram panchayats and 853 Zilla Parishad zones, will end on 21 February.

Officials said, with the announcement, the poll code of conduct has come into effect in the State and will be in force till the end of last phase of poll.

While the polling would be held from 7 am to 12 noon, counting of votes will begin at 1 pm.

While aspiring candidates can file nominations between 11 and 17 January, the papers will be scrutinised on 18 January.

Last date for withdrawal of nominations is 21 January. The final list of contesting candidates will be declared on the same day, officials added.

However the Commission said there will be no polling in six panchayats of the State as interim stay from Orissa High Court still prevails in these panchayats. These are Parjang (Dhenkanal), Dasrathpur (Jajpur), Kolabira and Laikera (Jharsuguda), Bhawanipatna (Kalahandi) and Rengali (Sambalpur).

Similarly Dhinkia panchayat in Jagatsinghpur district will not go to polls as its term is not over. However, polling will be held for Panchayat Samiti and Zilla Parishad members, the Commission stated.