Ruckus at CMC meet: 5 BJD corporators served notices

Bhubaneswar: Commissionerate Police today served notice to five BJD corporators in connection with the violence at a meeting of the Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC) recently.

The five coporators – Ranjan Khan, Bikash Behera, Anil Niladri, Itishree Behera and Dayanidhi Nayak – were served the notices under the CrPC-41A, sources said.

Protesting the failure of the State Government in checking the dengue outbreak in the city, some Congress corporators had staged a dharna at the meeting by putting up a mosquito net at the CMC Council meeting on July 29. A scuffle ensued when BJD corporators opposed them. A war of words between corporators soon turned into a scuffle in which some Congress corporators got beaten up.